« Previous  
 Next »

Midday Classical: Clarinetist Romie de Guise-Langlois and pianist Jeewon Park Live

04/24/09 10:00AM

Clarinetist Romie de Guise-Langlois is a native of Montreal, where she attended McGill University.  She received her Masters from Yale, where she studied with David Shifrin.  She has spent four summers at the Marlboro Music Festival and will be touring with Musicians from Marlboro, playing Brahms’ Clarinet Quintet.  She is currently a Fellow of The Academy: a program of Carnegie Hall, the Juilliard School, and the Weill Music Institute, in partnership with the New York City Department of Education, which provides performing opportunities for the finest young professional musicians.



Pianist Jeewon Park made her debut at the age of 12 with the Korean Symphony Orchestra, performing Chopin's First Concerto.  She moved to the United States in the summer of 2002 and holds degrees from The Juilliard School and Yale University, where she was awarded the prestigious Dean Horatio Parker Prize.  Her teachers include Claude Frank and Gilbert Kalish.  She lives in New York City with her husband, cellist Edward Arron, with whom she regularly performs. 

Romie and Jeewon both participated in last August’s inaugural concert of Soovin Kim’s Lake Champlain Chamber Music Festival.



Piano Concerto #16 in D, K 451
Composer: Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart
Ensemble: English Chamber Orchestra
Conductor: Jeffrey Tate
Soloists: Mitsuko Uchida, piano
Record co./Cat #: Philips 468918


Canon from Sonata for Harp and Guitar "Spirit of Trees"
Composer: Alan Hovhaness
Soloists: Yolanda Kondonassis, harp ; David Leisner, guitar
Record co./Cat #: Telarc 80530


Symphony #1 "Poem of the Forest" in d, Op. 7
Composer: Albert Roussel
Ensemble: National Orchestra of France
Conductor: Charles Dutoit
Record co./Cat #: Erato 88225


LIVE on VPR Classical: clarinetist Romie de Guise-Langlois and pianist Jeewon Park
Composer: Widor: Introduction and Rondo; Messiaen: Abyss of the Birds, from Quartet for the End of Time; and Brahms: Clarinet Sonata in E flat, Op. 120, No. 2


Caprices for solo violin in E, Op. 1
Composer: Nicolo Paganini
Soloists: Soovin Kim, violin
Record co./Cat #: Azica 71235


Symphony #48 "Maria Theresia" in C, HOB 1/48
Composer: Franz Joseph Haydn
Ensemble: Orpheus Chamber Orchestra
Record co./Cat #: Deutsche Grammophon 419607


String Quartet #9 in C, Op. 59/3
Composer: Ludwig Van Beethoven
Ensemble: Borromeo String Quartet
Record co./Cat #: Image Recordings 5152


Introduction and Variations on Lasst uns erfreuen ("All Creatures of our God and King")
Composer: John Weaver
Soloists: John Weaver, organ
Record co./Cat #: JAV Recordings 157


Zadok The Priest (a Coronation Anthem)
Composer: George Friederich Handel
Ensemble: The English Concert
Conductor: Simon Preston
Soloists: Choir of Westminster Abbey
Record co./Cat #: Deutsche Grammophon 447280


Piano Concerto #3 in C, Op. 26
Composer: Sergei Prokofiev
Ensemble: Gewandhaus Orchestra, Leipzig
Conductor: Kurt Masur
Soloists: Michel Beroff, piano
Record co./Cat #: EMI 62542


Petite Piece for Clarinet & Piano
Composer: Claude Debussy
Soloists: David Shifrin, clarinet ; Andre Watts, piano
Record co./Cat #: Delos 3167


comments powered by Disqus
Supported By
Become an Underwriter | Find an Underwiter