« Previous  
 Next »

Shostakovich and the October Revolution

10/12/07 2:42PM

This month marks the 90th anniversary of the October Revolution. One of the most important figures of that era was Dimitri Shostakovich. This week VPR Classical is featuring some of his symphonies. For our last installment, we'll hear his Symphony #9, a musical slap-in-the-face to Joseph Stalin. We'll talk more about that and also hear a violin concerto by Vermont composer Gwyneth Walker.



Rondo A, D 438
Composer: Franz Schubert
Ensemble: Chamber Orchestra of Europe
Soloists: Gidon Kremer, violin
Record co./Cat #: D. Gramphn 437535


Sonata #14 g
Composer: Francesco Mancini
Ensemble: Musica Pacifica
Record co./Cat #: Dorian 93209
Release Year: 1995


Symphony #9 Eb, 70
Composer: Dmitri Shostakovich
Ensemble: Vienna Philharmonic Orchestra
Conductor: Leonard Bernstein
Record co./Cat #: D. Gramphn 419771


Berceuse Heroique
Composer: Claude Debussy
Soloists: Jean-Yves Thibaudet, piano
Record co./Cat #: Decca 460247


Terpsichore selections
Composer: Michael Praetorius
Ensemble: Collegium Terpsichore
Conductor: Fritz Neumeyer
Record co./Cat #: Boston Sky 118


Piano Concerto, 13
Composer: Benjamin Britten
Ensemble: City of Birmingham Symph. Orch
Conductor: Paavo Jarvi
Soloists: Leif Ove Andsnes, piano
Record co./Cat #: Angel/EMI 56760


Introduction and Variations on an English Theme
Composer: Louis Drouet
Soloists: Marc Grauwels, flute ; Catherine Michel, harp
Record co./Cat #: M Polo/HK 220441
Release Year: 1984


An American Concerto for Violin
Composer: Gwyneth Walker
Ensemble: Mid-Columbia Symphony
Conductor: Robert Bode
Soloists: Susan Pickett, violin
Record co./Cat #: Mid-Columb 1


Sing Joyfully unto the Lord (from Psalm 81)
Composer: William Byrd
Ensemble: The Tallis Scholars
Conductor: Peter Phillips
Record co./Cat #: Gimell 11


Festival Prelude, 61
Composer: Richard Strauss
Ensemble: New York Philharmonic
Conductor: Leonard Bernstein
Soloists: E. Power Biggs, organ
Record co./Cat #: CBS/Sony 47625


Ruy Blas Overture
Composer: Felix Mendelssohn
Ensemble: Bamberg Symphony
Conductor: Claus Peter Flor
Record co./Cat #: RCA 67885


Symphony #63 C Le Roxelane
Composer: Franz Joseph Haydn
Ensemble: Orpheus Chamber Orchestra
Record co./Cat #: D. Gramphn 427337


Rhapsody Eb, 119/4
Composer: Johannes Brahms
Soloists: Antonin Kubalek, piano
Record co./Cat #: Dorian 90159


Suite Provencale, 152
Composer: Darius Milhaud
Ensemble: Toulouse Capitol Orchestra
Conductor: Michel Plasson
Record co./Cat #: D. Gramphn 435437
comments powered by Disqus
Supported By
Become an Underwriter | Find an Underwiter