« Previous  
 Next »

Shostakovich and the October Revolution

10/10/07 2:37PM

VPR Classical's week-long tribute to Shostakovich, one of the most influential musicians of the 20th century, continues today. We feature Shostakovich's Symphony #7, known as the Leningrad. It has an incredibly poignant story behind it. Find out more as we listen to this symphony today at 2:30.



Ruslan and Ludmilla: Dance
Composer: Mikhail Glinka
Ensemble: BBC Philharmonic Orchestra
Conductor: Vasili Sinaisky
Record co./Cat #: Chandos 9861


Brandenburg Concerto #2 F, BWV 1047
Composer: Johann Sebastian Bach
Ensemble: Ravinia Festival Ensemble
Conductor: James Levine
Record co./Cat #: RCA 60378
Release Year: 1977


Symphony #7 C, 60 Leningrad
Composer: Dmitri Shostakovich
Ensemble: Leningrad Philharmonic Orch
Conductor: Mariss Jansons
Record co./Cat #: Angel/EMI 49494


Concert Allegro
Composer: Edward Elgar
Soloists: Peter Pertis, piano
Record co./Cat #: Chandos 8438


Bartered Bride Overture
Composer: Bedrich Smetana
Ensemble: Columbia Symphony Orchestra
Conductor: Thomas Schippers
Record co./Cat #: CBS/Sony 63053
Release Year: 1986


Scherzo Capriccioso, 66
Composer: Antonin Dvorak
Ensemble: London Symphony Orchestra
Conductor: Istvan Kertesz
Record co./Cat #: London 430046
Release Year: 1986


The Fairie Queen: Suite
Composer: Henry Purcell
Ensemble: Bath Festival Chamber Orch.
Conductor: Yehudi Menuhin
Record co./Cat #: Angel/EMI 65341


Trois Chansons
Composer: Maurice Ravel
Conductor: John Rutter
Soloists: Cambridge Singers
Record co./Cat #: Collegium 509


Fantasy on French Folktunes for oboe and orchestra, 31
Composer: Vincent d'Indy
Ensemble: Berlin Radio Symphony Orch.
Conductor: Hans Zimmer
Soloists: Lajos Lencses, oboe
Record co./Cat #: Capriccio 71028


Rienzi Overture
Composer: Richard Wagner
Ensemble: Berlin Philharmonic
Conductor: Klaus Tennstedt
Record co./Cat #: Angel/EMI 86248


Trumpet Concerto D
Composer: Giuseppe Tartini
Ensemble: English Chamber Orchestra
Conductor: Jeffrey Tate
Soloists: Ole Edvard Antonsen, trumpet
Record co./Cat #: Angel/EMI 54897


Prelude & Fugue e, 35/1
Composer: Felix Mendelssohn
Soloists: Murray Perahia, piano
Record co./Cat #: CBS/Sony 42401


Peter Grimes: Four Sea Interludes, 33
Composer: Benjamin Britten
Ensemble: BBC Symphony Orchestra
Conductor: Andrew Davis
Record co./Cat #: Teldec 73126
comments powered by Disqus
Supported By
Become an Underwriter | Find an Underwiter